Hobey Baker High School Character Award Winners

Character Builds Excellence:


It Starts with Character.

Success in life, much like success in hockey, demands more than skill alone. It demands a positive attitude, an excellent work ethic, and a will to succeed, no matter how hard it can be.

Quite simply, it demands character. That’s the true power of student athletics and the Hobey Baker High School Character Award honors the players who give their best for the team.

In 2003 the Hobey Baker High School Character Award was established to honor high school hockey players who exemplify the Hobey Baker ideal that “Character Builds Excellence.” Candidates for a High School Hobey Baker Award are selected by their coaches, based on the following criteria:

•     Integrity and positive attitude
•     Coachability
•     Outstanding sportsmanship
•     Community spirit

Each year, a single senior hockey player from each participating high school is selected by his or her coach to be honored by teammates and celebrated by the school and the community for outstanding individual performance on and off the ice.

Winners receive a personalized commemorative plaque – and a distinction shared by some of the top players to ever hit the ice: Hobey Baker winner.

Beavercreek High School Varsity Hockey Winners:

2019- PJ Kosir

2017- Nick Martin

2015- Nick Martin

2014- Brian Daniels

2011- Matt Green

2010- Beau Slater

2009- Adam Baldwin